Make your own free website on

Themes from Silverado
Bruce Broughton (1945 - )

Silverado (1985) is a fond hark back to the all-star, big-budget westerns of the 1950s and 1960s. The all-star cast includes Brian Dennehy, Kevin Kline, Kevin Costner, Scott Glenn, Danny Glover, Jeff Goldblum, Rosanna Arquette, and Linda Hunt. The various plotlines converge at the town of Silverado, held in thrall by crooked sheriff and his behemoth "deputies." The four disparate heroes prepare to do battle against the sheriff for personal reasons ranging from mercenary to altruistic. A classic, "High Noon"-style showdown caps this rousing retro western.

Bruce Broughton was born in Los Angeles on 8 March 1945 and enjoyed an incredibly prolific career writing music for a vast number TV series and telefeatures during the 1970s and 80s (including such hits as 'Hawaii Five-O', 'Hart to Hart', 'Buck Rogers', 'Dallas', 'Quincy', 'Logan's Run' and 'Barnaby Jones'). With 18 nominations, he has received the Emmy award seven times, most recently for his score for the TNT movie GLORY AND HONOR and the theme song to Steven Spielberg's TINY TOON ADVENTURES

His first foray into the world of feature films came in 1984, with Stewart Raffill's 'The Ice Pirates'. Since then Broughton has composed some excellent scores, many with rousing bombastic themes. The undoubted pinnacle of his career to date was the incredible western 'Silverado' in 1985, which got him an Oscar nomination, but other highlights include 'Harry and the Hendersons', 'The Presidio', 'Narrow Margin', 'Tombstone' and 'Miracle on 34th Street'.